Is That Steve?

I think I see Steve! Timmy pointed to a little dot flying high in the sky.

Hmmm, you think that’s Steve?

Yup, that’s him! He has come back to say thank you.

The bird descended slowly as it rode the thermal air stream. Was this my imagination?

See, that’s him!

How do you know? I asked.

Because he loves me. Timmy’s smile said it all.

Well, by golly I do think it is Steve. I patted Timmy’s back in agreement.

And with that the bird let out a piercing scream as if on cue.

Steve is a hawk that Timmy and I rescued after its parents had died. We found it on the ground and Timmy became the bird whisperer that day. He calmed the very big bird down by wrapping his arms around it and cradling it like a baby. We took it to a bird rescue and the woman was incredulous when I told her that Timmy picked it up. She told me it was a miracle. Most people would have been torn up she said and showed me a few nasty scars. That day Timmy named this majestic animal Steve. A few months later I got a notice that Steve had been freed into the wild. Ever since then Timmy has scoured the skies searching for his beloved friend. I guess today he came back to say hi to his human friend and rescuersteve-rescuer, Timmy.

Timmy smiled broadly reassured that surely Steve had come back. I’m always amazed at Timmy’s faith and simple belief that surely God would give him this sweet gift of knowing the simple truth- WITH GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE!

Leave a Reply

