Free Pony- I AM NOT KIDDING!

img_1142

The middle fence rails were out, this means one thing, my pony, Buttons is out. Panic set in.   It was only 5:00 in the morning. I had to go to work, now I had a real problem on my hands, Buttons was gone. I turned on the lights in the feed room and discovered that there had been a slaughter of every edible thing. That included dry bran mash, supplements for joints, horse treats, cat food, and who knows what else.

 

Immediately, my panicked voice split the morning air with a plaintive call for Buttons. No sound, only whinnies from my other disgruntled horses that their feed time was being interrupted by this very bad pony.

 

I walked into the fields exploring the turn out sheds, there he was. Apparently, he let himself out and when he was spent from gorging, he let himself back in.

 

His swollen belly told me that he was in trouble. Immediately, I grabbed Banamine and gave him a dose. I was somewhat worried about him. He was not looking too perky or happy with himself. He was showing no outward signs of collicking, but I knew he was in severe discomfort.

 

Then, as God always does, He showed me an idea to solve the problem. I grabbed one of the feed sacks and tied it to the tree. Then I grabbed the portly pony, and walked him by the tree. The wind flapped the bag and he bolted forward and then stopped and stared at this very scary scene. He snorted and then lifted his tail and promptly pooped.

 

Here is my plea- free pony. His name is Buttons, he likes to escape, enjoys early morning feed binges, will bite your butt if you don’t keep your eye on him, loves to be squirted with the hose on hot days, enjoys playing long and hard with the other horses, he is extremely intelligent, and loves to be ridden. Though he is portly, he jumps carefully and well. He is a handful for an inexperienced rider, but he does not have a bad bone in him. He is ornery and enjoys “trying” out his rider to see what he can get away with. He loves baths, grooming, and EATING!! He has been known to eat snow cones, mint chocolate chip ice cream, Cheetos, Doritos, pepperoni pizza, chicken wings, Ginger Snaps, Coke, cookies, French fries (only McDonalds), and a peach.  If you pull up and you have food, he will go to the window and “beg” for a bite.  He is very adept at smelling French fries, which he loves immensely.

 

Any takers on my FREE PONY?

Leave a Reply

